Price: $16.99
    Points to Purchase:170
    Points Earned:17
    Bonus Points Earned:0


    You need to be strong to read these powerful poems, but they are worth the journey along the course of aging. The title of the collection may be Aging Without Grace, but the poems carry a special grace. It is the grace of truthfulness captured in stunning images such as, "Now your vacant chair sighs when I pass by," in "When You Lay Dying."

    The poems also touch the sensitivity of all ages as when a woman visiting the grave of a friend thinks of "The day when a friend might visit me," in "The Shift of Time."

    Each piece in this startling collection of poems captures touchable shifts of time. Aging Without Grace illuminates Nobel Prize winner Salvatore Quasimodo's definition of poetry as "the revelation of a feeling that the poet believes to be interior and personal which the reader recognizes as their own."

    Anna M. Carroll,
    author of the poetry collections Gulag and Pieces of a Thief

    Sea Change

    Llys Helig is a legendary palace in the north of Wales during the sixth century, where the kingdom stretched across the area and is believed to be beneath the sea at Conway Bay.

    Diving into a world I know

    from long ago,

    so clear and blue and indigo.

    Be it salt or be it pooled,

    sea-life present, or is it me

    whose blood runs cold,

    aligned to sea?

    Breaths I grasp, as need be,

    held with stroke and flourish, form—

    lapped water in my ears breaks

    where air and stream do swarm.

    Floating as a feather loosed,

    drifting to and fro, awash,

    then breaking weightless, deep

    through water, parted and fused.

    Is this my cradle, my stronghold

    where truly I belong, where woe wanes

    and aches are quelled?

    I freestyle on toward Llys Helig.

    Yet when I must, when breath begs air,

    released, when I step on land,

    dripping fair and light,

    … the weight of the world

    seizes me upright.