Retail: $15.00
Price: $11.99
You Save: $3.01 (20.1%)
    Points to Purchase:120
    Points Earned:12
    Bonus Points Earned:0

    Quantity:

    Synopsis

    "After a brutal evening trying to network amongst a conference hall of strangers, I wrote an email to my Jennifer: “It zapped my energy just trying to maintain such a façade. I describe myself lately as puny, timid, socially regressive - basically fragile. I’ve never prided myself as a social butterfly. But lately I feel more like a social wallflower, unable to hold even basic conversations let alone to strike up a discussion of any depth.

    Realizing the depressed tone of my letter and not wanting to scare Jennifer from halfway around the world, I tried to reassure her: “However, I must emphasize, I’m okay. I’m not going off the deep end.” But in reality I felt like I was. In the pit of my stomach, I was scared. I felt like I was losing my use of basic logic and communication skills. I was overcome by fear every day: of people, of losing, of speaking, of being quiet, of not providing, of not being enough, of not being courageous."

    Are you shy, reserved, introverted? Are you frustrated by forced socializing? Do you feel you have to pretend to be someone else?

    In the Award-Winning (March 2020 NonFiction Authors Association Book Awards Program) memoir, In Search of Courage, author Steve Friedman shares his struggles both at work and at home. His long path to overcome countless roadblocks is both "heart-wrenching and heartbreaking."


    Editorial Reviews

    Review

    "Friedman's story is an authentic one of self-discovery -- the pains, joys and acceptance of embracing who you are in spite of the influence of our extroverted society." -- Norma T. Hollis, author of Ten Steps to Authenticity

    "Whether you're an introvert or not, you're sure to recognize yourself or those you know in these stories." -- Kenneth Rosenberg, author of Memoirs of a Starving Artist

    "Wow! What a compelling life story. I enjoyed it and found myself pausing to reflect often." -- Blaise Dismer, MSW author of Homebound No More

    "Kudos to Steve Friedman for sharing such a personal journey through the challenges of being an introvert in an extroverted world." -- Stephanie Chandler, CEO of the Nonfiction Authors Association

    "In the tradition of Maya Angelou and Paul Monette, In Search of Courage illuminates, through a very personal lens, universal insights bright with wisdom and heart." -- Roger Leslie, Ph.D., author of From Inspiration to Publication

    From the Author

    Introducing Peavine Press, LLC. Peavine Press is our publication imprint bringing inspiration to life.

    I am a proud Indie publisher. My goal is to efficiently produce meaningful and inspirational products that are professionally crafted in all aspects. As such, all our books will be extensively edited for content and grammar and are complemented with professional covers and interior typesetting.

    We are committed to market with integrity. Indie Publishing provides an exciting path to bring titles to market in the most vibrant, creative, and economical way. Peavine Press welcomes your feedback on the professionalism and impact of our offerings.

    The two directors of Peavine Press are Steve Friedman and Jennifer Friedman.

    The title of Peavine Press was selected to represent Peavine Falls, a peaceful site at the peak of Oak Mountain State Park south of Birmingham, Alabama. In my youth, I often hiked to Peavine Falls with my dad and my sisters. Peavine holds a special place in my heart as a place of solitude, self-discovery, and natural beauty, all objectives of my writing projects.

    If you would like more information on Peavine Press, LLC or my Indie Publishing journey, please contact me at BeyondIntroversion@gmail.com.

    About the Author

    Steve Friedman - Author Bio

    Steve Friedman grew up in a loving yet turbulent household in Birmingham, Alabama. After graduating from The University of Alabama with a major in Finance, Friedman worked 30 years in various logistics and trading leadership roles with Shell Oil. Besides living in Houston,Detroit, and London, Friedman has traveled worldwide through business trips and family vacations. In 2018, Friedman retired, ready to relax and focus on personal health and family connections. He has also rejuvenated his passion for introspective writing which has spawned In Search of Courage and other nonfiction projects. Besides nonfiction writing and blogging, Friedman enjoys running,reading, and family time. Friedman met his love, Jennifer, in Houston.Together, they have raised three amazing children, Gwendolyn, Madolyn,and Noah. They delight in cruising and hanging around the house together.

    Overall Customer Rating of 1 Reviews:

    In Search of Courage

    Rating:
    Pros:
    Cons:
    In Search of Courage is a deeply personal yet profoundly universal journey to understanding and thriving as an introvert. There is so much courage in the telling of the story and such wisdom in the lessons learned.